Click to join here!
 
Welcome To KACE
 Kansas Adult Care Executives
 
 
 
 
 

Operator Registration Requirement and Webinar on Activities for Alzheimer’s and Dementia Residents

18 May 2015 2:34 PM | Bill Tofflemire (Administrator)

Kansas lawmakers made a significant change last year when they began requiring all adult care facilities to have a licensed or registered professional at the helm.  While nursing homes have long been required to have a licensed administrator, the requirement for a registered operator at assisted living facilities and other state-licensed facilities is new.  As we have been out and about visiting with adult care executives across the state this spring we have encountered a considerable amount of lingering confusion about when the law took effect and when operators need to be registered.  Here are some of the top questions we have heard along with the answers.

 

When did the new requirements go into effect? 

House Bill 2418 was enacted during the 2014 Legislative Session and went into effect on July 1, 2014.  Technically speaking, assisted living and other operators were required to be registered on July 1, 2014.  However, as with any significant law change, the process for creating rules and regulations created a slight lag in implementation.  K.A.R. 26-39-500 through K.A.R. 26-39-506 became effective on September 2, 2014.  These regulations direct the process for operator registration.

 

When were active assisted living operators required to register?

Operators who are actively working in this capacity should have applied for and received their Operators registration once the regulations were in place in 2014.  If you are actively working as an operator you should take steps as soon as possible to secure your Operator’s registration.  (As long as you took the operator course prior to 2014 you will qualify for the special “grandfather” provisions for registration and the fee and education requirements will be waived. ) An application can be found on the KDADS website at www.kdads.ks.gov.

 

What are the Continuing Education Requirements for a Registered Operator? 

Operators are required to have 30 hours of continuing education every 2 years.  This includes 15 hours in the area of administration, 10 hours in the area of resident care and 5 hours of electives.


Webinar on Activities for Alzheimer’s and Dementia Residents

 

The primary focus of a June KACE webinar will be on programming and activities found to produce the best results for Alzheimer's and Dementia residents.  Pending approval, the webinar will provide 3 continuing education hours for administrators and operators.

You can sign up for the webinar on the KACE Professional Development Calendar.



Give us your thoughts here!


 Returns Policy
Kansas Adult Care Executives
1505 SW Fairlawn RD.
Suite B
Topeka, KS 66604
P 785-273-4393
F 785-273-8681
 Privacy Policy
Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software